Motown Classic Set 14/04/2021

Written by on 14 April 2021

Motown Classic Set 14/04/2021

Motown Classic Set 14/04/2021

Motown Records is an American record label owned by the Universal Music Group. It was founded by Berry Gordy Jr. as Tamla Records on January 12, 1959, and incorporated as Motown Record Corporation on April 14, 1960. Its name, a portmanteau of motor and town, has become a nickname for Detroit.

Motown Classic Set Tracklist
01 Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I’m Yours
02 Dancing In The Street
03 I Heard It Through The Grapevine
04 The Tracks Of My Tears
05 You Keep Me Hanging On
06 My Guy
07 I Was Made To Love Her
08 What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted
09 Stop Her On Sight (SOS)
10 (I’m) Road Runner
11 Do You Love Me
12 It Takes Two
13 Please Mr. Postman
14 Reach Out I’ll Be There
15 This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You)
16 I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
17 I’ll Pick A Rose For My Rose
18 Ain’t Too Proud To Beg
19 My Cherie Amour
20 How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
21 Baby Love
22 I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)
23 When You’re Young And In Love
24 I Guess I’ll Always Love You
25 Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever (Track Corrupted not complete)
26 Reflections (Track Corrupted not complete)
27 Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing
28 Get Ready

Motown played an essential role in the racial integration of popular music as an African American-owned label that achieved crossover success. In the 1960s, Motown and its subsidiary labels (including Tamla Motown, the brand used outside the US) were the most successful proponents of Motown Sound, a soul music style with a mainstream pop appeal. Motown was the most successful soul music label, with a net worth of $61 million. During the 1960s, Motown achieved 79 records in the top ten of the Billboard Hot 100 between 1960 and 1969.

Following the Detroit Riots of 1967 and the loss of crucial songwriting/production team Holland–Dozier–Holland that year over pay disputes, Gordy moved Motown to Los Angeles. Motown expanded into film and television production.

It was an independent company until MCA Records bought it in 1988. PolyGram purchased the MCA label in 1993, followed by MCA successor Universal Music Group, which acquired PolyGram in 1999.

Motown spent much of the 2000s headquartered in New York City as a part of the UMG subsidiaries Universal Motown and Universal Motown Republic Group. From 2011 to 2014, it was a part of The Island Def Jam Music Group division of Universal Music. In 2014, however, UMG announced the dissolution of Island Def Jam. Motown relocated back to Los Angeles to operate under the Capitol Music Group, now working out of the Capitol Tower. In 2018, Motown was into Rhythm and Blues Music Hall of Fame in a ceremony held at the Charles H. Wright Museum.

Post Viewed : 109
QR Code

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track



Scroll Up